God’s Love Letters to You–Day One: Genesis, “I have a plan. Trust Me.”

Each weekday morning at 5:45 on WWIB and WWIB.com I lead us in our morning prayer focus and devotion. Today we kicked off the first of 40 days reading from Dr. Larry Crabb’s devotional, “God’s Love Letters to You,” drawn from his longer book, “66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God that Invites You into His Story.” Beginning today and throughout the next eight weeks I intend to share each day’s reading right here:

Day One: Genesis

“I have a plan: Trust Me”

“Then Joseph said to his brothers, “…God will surely come to your aid and take you up out of this land to the land he promised on oath to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob…God will surely come to your aid.”–Genesis 50:24, 25

God says: I want you to realize that I never underestimated how thoroughly you’d mess up your life or how painfully you would struggle and suffer, and I don’t want you to underestimate your failures or struggles either. They’re all part of the story I’m telling.

But neither have I underestimated My determination or ability to enter both the mess you’ve made and the pain you feel, then turn everything around. I can, and I will, make everything good again. Never, ever underestimate Me. I have a plan, a very good one, and it will move ahead to completion. Guaranteed! Trust Me. Why? Because I love you even when you’re messing up badly. I love you in the middle of your pain even though I don’t relieve it as quickly as you wish. I am worthy of your trust, no matter what happens in your life. I have a good plan, and nothing will stop Me from carrying it to completion.

You must live now in the tension between anguish and hope.

 

