“God’s Love Letters to You”: Day 2, Exodus

From Dr. Larry Crabb’s, “God’s Love Letters to You: A 40-Day Devotional Experience,” Day 2, “Exodus: Consider the Lengths I go to, just to be with you”:

“Let them make me a sanctuary, that I may dwell among them.”–Exodus 25:8 NKJV

God says: I can and I will detach you from everything that numbs your sacred hunger for me and makes you feel hungrier for something other than Me.

You will never on this earth depend fully enough on My power to live exactly as you want to live. When you see how particular I am about all the rules you should obey but never do, let the weight of My holiness draw you into the delights of My love. I still want to be with you.

Don’t ever forget: I do have a plan, a plan to make you deliriously happy in the circle of My love. As you read Exodus 25-40, where I record all those architectural details about the tabernacle, realize the lengths I’m willing to go to be with you. Imagine me, the God of the universe, clothed in splendor and arrayed in glory, living in, by My standards, a simple tent set up in a barren wilderness. Sure, it was fancy, but compare it to what you imagine heaven to be. But that’s where I lived, just to be near people like you.

As you consider all the laws I gave that you never kept, and as you see My willingness to go camping to be with My people, know this: I will do whatever it takes to fully restore My family and to be with them forever.

