“God’s Love Letters to You”, Day Three: Leviticus: Solving Your Worst Problem

In Dr. Larry Crabb’s “God’s Love Letters to You: A 40-Day Devotional Experience,” Day Three is “Leviticus: Solving Your Worst Problem”:

“Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family.”–Hebrews 2:11

“God says: You want Me to solve your problems, but you don’t know what your worst problem is, the one responsible for all the others. You don’t yet realize that distance from Me is the most lethal problem you have.

You assume we’re doing just fine together, while you run off, trying to make life work for you, and you expect Me to cooperate. When you read Leviticus, notice that I never solve anyone’s secondary problems. In all those verses about skin infection, for example, I never prescribed ointment or simply cured the disease, which I easily could have done. I simply told people they couldn’t enter My presence with an oozing sore. The issue was worship and intimacy with Me, not health, wealth, or personal comfort.

So many people miss that. They identify their needs and then view Me as a God who wants them satisfied and happy before I deal with their unholiness. But because I love them–and you–I’ve made a way for you to revolve your life around Me as your first thing. Everything else–your marriage, your checkbook, your self-esteem, your career–is a second thing. When the first thing(namely, Me) is in first place in your life, every second thing will be taken care of.

You’ve got a long way to go before that’s true in your life, but I have a plan to get you there, to make you holy.”

TAKE A MOMENT TO REFLECT

*If you didn’t feel the need to “spiritualize” or worry about what others think, how would you define what your worst problem is?

*What are some of the second things in your life that you long for God to address?

*The second things of our lives often take priority over what God says matters most. How would you describe, after reading these words, what’s God’s deepest commitment is in our lives?

TAKE A MOMENT TO PRAY

“God, I would settle for far less than Your commitment to make me holy as You are. Too often my commitment is to use You to make my life comfortable. Forgive me. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

 

